Endangered Speechies: E

endangered speechiesWe are now bearing down on the Letter E in our Endangered Speechies series.  I wonder how these posts are serving you in your appreciation of some of the vagaries and quirks of lost colloquialisms.  Have you been trying some of them out for size in your own writing?

These Endangered Speechies are coming to you from the Letter E:

1: Ears Flapping: Inquisitive; seeking avidly for information.  This is still widely used and I love the visuality of the image – like an elephant, ears flapping in the wind.

example: In the cafe, Jon and Judy were deep in conversation.  At the next table, the two old ladies ears were flapping.

2: Earwig: Scandalmonger, flatterer.  I have known ‘earwigging’ to infer that you are eavesdropping a conversation.  I have some rather traumatic childhood memories of earwigs so I like the fact that in slangworld, they are never the most auspicious of creatures.

example:  Sir Andrew Featherstock was a shameless earwig as could be perfectly well-observed in his low bow to the Duchess of Havistock.

3:  Eelskin: A tightly-fitting frock of trousers.  Oh the luscious accuracy of this image and also that subtle layer of repulsion too.  Marvellous on so many levels.

example: Kim pulled on her best eelskin.  She was going to wow the paparazzi tonight, or die trying.

4: Ersatz: Synthetic substitute first used in World War II for artificial.  I used to see this phrase in books and never be quite sure as to its meaning.  Oh thank goodness for the clarity of the dictionary.

example: On her sugar -free diet, Emily became rather too liberal with the ersatz sugar in her cupcake recipes.

5: Euchred: Outwitted, from the game.  I am not a card player but I am presuming that Euchre is such a pastime.

example:  Andrew stood at the entrance of the empty warehouse, euchred again.  He must catch this killer and yet, right now, staring at the empty concrete shell, he felt that day was getting further and further from his reach.

6: Every mother’s son:  Absolutely everybody.  And that means you too.

example:  When Lily threw her annual bash, you could expect every mother’s son to be in attendance.

7:  Eye for:  An appreciation of

example:  Arthur always had an eye for the ladies, especially those who were fond of pies.

8:  Excuse my french:  apology for the use of bad language.  I have to say that my own mother used this and, just lately, I have even found it passing my own lips.  Oh the pathos of turning into your own mother – is there a greater tragedy in life???

example:  “excuse my french”, said Chrissie, blushing madly.

“Not at all, though I am not sure that was actually French!” coughed Steven.  He had never heard such language from so well-dressed a lady.

So there you have it – today’s thrilling installment.

Side note:  I find that now that I have committed to this series there seems no going back without feeling like a quitter.  So sorry reader, even if these are boring you or have no ‘value’ to you as an online consumer of information, I’m in this now – long-haul. Bear with me, yes?

Enjoy your Tuesday folks.

Leave a Reply

