Endangered Speechies: D

endangered speechiesSo how on earth it got to Tuesday again, I have no idea.  My only excuse for being such a shockingly irregular blogster is that last week I really pulled myself back into my writing.  I will update you on this later in the post but let’s just cut to the chase shall we?  I know, I know – it’s Tuesday which means that you are itching for the latest thrilling and enticing collection of endangered speechies.

Do not fear my friend –

This week’s endangered speechies are coming to you from the letter D:

1: Dando: A restaurant customer who decamps without paying for their meal.  Oh the scoundrels.  Apparently this saying comes from a popular song from the early 19th century – fascinating… so there you go!

example: Susy had been working too many years in the Chittanooga on West diner to know a dando when he slid onto a stool at the counter.

2: Day after the fair:  Just too late to be of any use.

example: The fire engines rounded the corner as Amy looked up to see Jon’s car pull into the kerb.  ‘Typical’, she thought,’ Always arriving the day after the fair!’

3: Dance on nothing:  Be hanged.  I find this a rather delightfully grotesque image really.  Gallows poetry anyone?

example:  Old Milly Hobblenob will be dancing on nothing before the end of the week, mark my words,  You can’t poach the Baron’s grouse and expect to walk free from that, said Mrs Puttletrop with a particular type of gleeful relish that is typical of the shopkeeping classes.

4:  Devil’s Delight: A terrific noise.  Which could make the name of a really great band in a novel perhaps?  Potentially anyway…

example:  From the corner of the farmyard came a devil’s delight.  Sally rushed out brandishing the gun.  She fired two shots and watched as the beast skulked into the shadows taking a prize duck with it.  ‘Next time”, she screamed into the night.

5: Dismal Jimmy:  A confirmed pessimist.  I am not sure but if by any chance your name is Jimmy this might perhaps be a rather damning personality label.

Example: “Don’t be such a Dismal Jimmy”, coaxed Natasha as she punched Vladimir in the arm.  He took another swig of vodka, “I tell you Natasha, there will be blood on the streets if the government refuse to grant the Netflix license.  They must be made to listen to the people!”

6: Doorstep and sea rover: A slice of thick bread and butter with a herring.  So like a herring sandwich I suppose.  I am constantly, and pleasantly, surprised by some of the nautical references in my slang dictionary.  I love that a sea rover is a herring. – nice!

example:  After a long stretch at sea, Alec put up his feet towards the cosy fire.  “Here you go love, a nice doorstep and sea rover”, said Rosie.

” I see you didn’t learn to cook in the two years that I was away then?” he teased, his mouth full of salty fish and fluffy bread.  Rose rolled her eyes and looked at the calendar to see when his leave would end.

7: Draw a bead: Take direct and exact aim with a firearm.  The ‘bead’ is the foresight of the weapon, apparently.  Side note: Gosh, do weapons have foresight?  If they do, would they not be reluctant to belch their contents out at such a rapid rate.  Even I can predict that it will cause some damage.  If therefore weapons do have ‘foresight’, I can only assume that they are therefore psychopathic machines without any compassion whatsoever.  How nasty!

Example: Lieutenant O’Dowd pulled out his weapon and drew a bead on the gunman. “Drop it McCronacle, or I will shoot.”  Had McCronacle know that O”Dowd’s weapon had foresight he might have dropped the gun.  In hindsight, that might have been the sensible thing to do, buy Mc roancle had never been troubled with that curse.

8:  Dying duck in a thunderstorm: Looking absurdly forlorn and depressed.

example: “There now, you look like a dying duck in a thunderstorm,’ said Bobby.  He took out a hankie from his pocket.  She blew her nose loudly.  Bobby found it a curiously attractive noise – luscious and strong.  He had always had a penchant for emotional women.

So there you have it, another collection for the archives.

See you next Tuesday, my dears.  Or before then if I get my a into g and post some more.  That’s the plan.  But you know the thing about plans…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

